Changes – A David Bowie Tribute, Lyrebird Cafe. 21/11/15

Growing up in a house where my dad would come home from work every day and we’d spin his favourite 33’s, it’s no surprise I got my first album for my 8th birthday. TV was limited, but I begged my parents to give me the 6pm Sunday time slot, for Countdown! It was the mid 80’s and Beargarden, (fronted by the charismatic Sam Sejavka), and their single, I Write The News, burst onto the screen. I was instantly transfixed!
It’s always a risk to revisit idols of your past years later, and curiosity killed the cat, but hey, this cat still has at least 7 lives, so when I heard Sam was singing at Bowie – Changes Tribute, I couldn’t resist revisiting my preteen self!

So it was with curious anticipation that I ventured forth to suburbia. Lyrebird Cafe & Bar unobtrusively nestled among the Glen Eira Road shopping strip is cosy, with a slightly bohemian, welcoming feel. Now suburbia is not without its distance, so I missed the first couple of acts. The cafe was jammed with an assortment of Bowie and 80’s music devotees, some in standard glittery Bowie issue. Some faces were familiar but I couldn’t quite place them. Sam was yet to arrive.

The fourth act of the night,(my first), rapidly becoming a favourite, organiser Michael Plater, complete with glitter and eyeliner, opened with a very Bowiesque version of Diamond Dogs. Reminiscent of the Velvet Underground or The Triffids, Michael’s restrained edgy vocal then smashed Suffragette City, a difficult achievement for an iconic Bowie number. The crowd approved.

With ten acts and a set list including some of the lesser known Bowie numbers, the experience of the performers showed as they were able to quickly establish a rapport with the audience whilst limited to three songs each. The subdued vocal of Andrew McCubbin had the room in silence with his version of the under rated, Wild is The Wind. Another highlight was Melbourne four piece, Winter Sun, whose energetic version of, Fame got people dancing. The set ups were quick, the sets were tight and overall the night had a wonderful supportive feel from both the crowd and the other musicians.

With the last two acts to go, there was an almost imperceptible hum,”Sam’s here”, and all eyes were on the door. Dressed in a leopard print coat he quietly entered, and in doing so commanded the attention of the room. I don’t really know what I had expected but I still had that curious fascination. Guitar in hand, Sam and The Moth Body’s awesome guitarist, Donald Baldie accompanied unique vocalist and violinist, Bronwyn Adams. Then, the final act and my performance of the night, which included a brilliant version of, All The Madmen, the stage was Sam’s. A perfect finish! But the crowd, and the musicians wanted more, so all performers assembled on stage for a couple of impromptu Bowie numbers, a fitting finale.

As I turned to leave, I looked around and for a fleeting moment became that preteen fan once more, and I couldn’t help but smile!

MP$

sam3

 

group1

https://michaelplater.bandcamp.com/

https://themothbody.bandcamp.com/track/curious

 

Leave a Reply

